Yahoo Takes Podcasts Webby

May 10th, 2006 | By | Category: Audio Podcasting, Podcasting Events

The winners of the 10th Annual Webby Awards have been announced. Yahoo! Podcasts was the winner in the Podcasts category.

This is the first year that a Podcasts Webby is being awarded.

Winners will be honored at a June 12th gala in New York City.

Organizers also announced recipients of this year’s Webby Special Achievement awards, including:

  • Webby Breakout of the Year: social networking sensation and its founders Tom Anderson and Chris DeWolfe.
  • Webby Artist of the Year: The Gorillaz, the world’s most successful virtual band and a pioneer in fusing music and animation.
  • Webby Entrepreneur of the Year: Mark Cuban, owner of the Dallas Mavericks and HDNet and evangelist for the power of technology to drive change.
  • Webby Person of the Year: Thomas Friedman, New York Times columnist and Pulitzer Prize-winning author of The World is Flat: A Brief History of The 21st Century.
  • Webby Lifetime Achievement Award: Dr. Robert Kahn, co-inventor of the TCP/IP protocols, the technology used to transmit information on today’s Internet.

The Webby Awards is presented by the Academy, a global organization with over 500 members including musician David Bowie, Virgin Group founder Richard Branson, The Body Shop president Anita Roddick, “Simpsons” creator Matt Groening, Naked Chef Jamie Oliver, and fashion designer Max Azria.

In keeping with Webby tradition, all winners and Webby Special Achievement honorees will be limited to five-word acceptance speeches. Last year’s Webby Lifetime Achievement Award honoree Al Gore made worldwide headlines with his speech – “Please don’t recount this vote.”

For a list of all winners of The 10th Annual Webby Awards, visit

Leave a Reply