Nine Inch Nails Goes Creative Commons With The Slip

May 5th, 2008 | By | Category: Audio Podcasting, Digital Music, Podcast-Legal Music

Nine Inch Nails has announced that it is giving away its latest album, The Slip, for free:

as a thank you to our fans for your continued support, we are giving away the new nine inch nails album one hundred percent free, exclusively via

the music is available in a variety of formats including high-quality MP3, FLAC or M4A lossless at CD quality and even higher-than-CD quality 24/96 WAVE. your link will include all options – all free. all downloads include a PDF with artwork and credits.

for those of you interested in physical products, fear not. we plan to make a version of this release available on CD and vinyl in july. details coming soon.

You can download free high-quality MP3s of The Slip via the NIN site. Email registration is required.

Even more interesting – The Slip is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution Non-Commercial Share Alike license. That’s right – it’s podcast-legal music.

NIN says:

we encourage you to
remix it
share it with your friends,
post it on your blog,
play it on your podcast,
give it to strangers,

Nine Inch Nails continues to be the most progressive mainstream group at experimenting with new options for releasing and licensing their music. They have already released several hours of music that you can podcast and share legally, and they have an extensive lineup of free music podcasts, too.

Track list:

  1. 999,999
  2. 1,000,000
  3. letting you
  4. discipline
  5. echoplex
  6. head down
  7. lights in the sky
  8. corona radiata
  9. the four of us are dying
  10. demon seed
Tags: , , , , ,

No Responses to “Nine Inch Nails Goes Creative Commons With The Slip”

  1. […] NIN set precedent last week by releasing their latest album – The Slip – online and completely free.  I mentioned a few weeks […]

Leave a Reply